Events

Stacey Halls Book Tour Comes to Colchester

TALK AND SIGNING

We are very excited about her new novel, THE FOUNDLING

Two women, bound by a child, and a secret that will change everything . . .

London, 1754. Six years after leaving her illegitimate daughter Clara at London’s Foundling Hospital, Bess Bright returns to reclaim the child she has never known. Dreading the worst,
that Clara has died in care, she is astonished when she is told she has already
claimed her.

Her life is turned upside down as she tries to find out who has taken her little girl – and why. Less than a mile from Bess’s lodgings in the city, in a quiet, gloomy townhouse on
the edge of London, a young widow has not left the house in a decade. When her
close friend – an ambitious young doctor at the Foundling Hospital – persuades
her to hire a nursemaid for her daughter, she is hesitant to welcome someone
new into her home and her life.

But her past is threatening to catch up with her and tear her carefully constructed world apart. From the bestselling author of The Familiars comes this captivating story of mothers and daughters, class and power, and love against the greatest of odds . .

‘Pacy, highly atmospheric and tantalisingly gripping from the very first page. With rich storytelling and a compelling narrative, The Foundling is subtle, satisfying and intensely moving’.  Laura Carlin, author of The Wicked Cometh’

A compelling tale of love and hope from the vivid streets of Georgian London’ Sonia Velton, author of Blackberry & Wild Rose

‘If you loved The Familiars, then you won’t be disappointed by The Foundling.

A gripping and moving read’
Libby Page, bestselling author of The Lido

This is a free event but we ask that you reserve a ticket as seating is limited.


 

Book Launch: Liz Trenow – ‘Under a Wartime Sky’

Thursday, 20th February at 6.30 pm

LIZ TRENOW launches her latest novel UNDER A WARTIME SKY

Liz Trenow, bestselling author of THE POPPY FACTORY and IN LOVE AND WAR, returns to her Suffolk roots for her latest novel UNDER A WARTIME SKY telling the remarkable story of a group of men and women whose top secret work changed the course of history.

Under a Wartime Sky is an enthralling historical novel by Liz Trenow, based on real-life events at a top-secret wartime research station. Telling the story of the heroes behind the discovery of radar, it’s perfect for readers of Kate Furnivall and Rachel Hore. 1936: The dark clouds of war are gathering across Europe and the brightest minds in Britain have been brought together in a grand manor on the Suffolk coast.

These select few have been tasked by Churchill to develop, in utmost secrecy, an invention that will help win the war and alter the course of history. In this tense atmosphere, an unlikely friendship develops between Vic, a brilliant but shy physicist, and Kathleen, a cheerful local girl helping her mother in the kitchens. Following the news that her brother intends to join the RAF, Kath yearns to do her bit for the war effort.

So when Vic tells her they are recruiting women to operate his top secret system, she makes a choice that will change her life forever. As war is declared, the manor finds itself on the front line of a ferocious battle being fought in the skies as waves of German bombers set their sights on Britain. With the ever-present threat above them, Vic fights to solve problems that threaten to endanger the country, and Kath is forced to make a desperate, life-or-death decision.


 

Brian Bilston – Author signing session

Meet Brian Bilston, the ‘Poet Laureate of Twitter’

Wednesday 26th February at 4 pm

He will be visiting the shop to talk to customers and sign copies of his books.

‘Brian Bilston is a laureate for our fractured times, a wordsmith who cares deeply about the impact his language makes as it dances before our eyes.’ Ian McMillan

Frequently described as the “Poet Laureate of Twitter”, Brian Bilston is a poet clouded in the pipe smoke of mystery. Very little is known about him other than the fragments of information revealed on social media: his penchant for tank tops, his enjoyment of Vimto, his dislike of Jeremy Clarkson.
In 2014 he became the first person to retain the title of Pipe Smoker of the Year [Poetry section] and, over the years, he has won numerous awards for cycling proficiency, first aid, and general tidiness. He won the 2015 Great British Write Off poetry prize for a poem disguised in a Venn diagram.

His first collection of poetry ‘You Caught the Last Bus Home‘ was published to great acclaim in 2017 and his novel ‘Diary of a Somebody’ was shortlisted for the Costa First Novel award in 2019. It has just been released in paperback.

About ‘Diary of a Somebody’

‘Nobody must find out about this unique gem, because I’m giving it to EVERYONE, and I want to appear clever and discerning.’ – Dawn French

It’s January 1st and Brian Bilston’s life needs to change. His ex-wife has taken up with a new man, a motivational speaker and marketing guru to boot; he seems to constantly disappoint his long-suffering son; and at work he is drowning in a sea of spreadsheets and management jargon.

Brian’s resolution is to write a poem every day; poetry will be his salvation. But there is an obstacle to his happiness in the form of Toby Salt, his arch nemesis in the Poetry Group and rival suitor to Liz, Brian’s new poetic inspiration. When Toby goes missing, Brian is the number one suspect.

Part tender love story, part murder mystery, part coruscating description of a wasted life, and interspersed with some of the funniest poems about the mundane and the profound, Diary of a Somebody is a unique, original and hilarious novel.

‘Glorious. I will be astonished if I read a more original, more inventive or funnier novel this year.’ – Adam Kay, author of This is Going to Hurt.

Picador paperback, £8.99