This a small selection of our stock featured here. To order any other book in print not listed please email firstname.lastname@example.org
Grey Friars, Colchester’s Forgotten Corner
Joan Gurney and Alan Skinner
Grey Friars, the building at the top of East Hill is known and loved by many Colcestrians. For many years a flourishing centre for Adult Education, it previously housed Colchester County High School for nearly 40 years. Originally built in 1755 by the Rev John Halls as an elegant Georgian town house, the building has had fascinating succession of occupants including merchants, horticulturalists and army officers. In 1903 the connection with education began when the Sisters of Nazareth established a convent and school in the building. The book also explores the early history of the Grey Friars site from the Roman era to the establishment of the original Franciscan Friary in the 13th century. This combination of background history of the area, together with lovingly described and illustrated architectural details of the current building, make this book a must for all lovers of Colchester’s history.